Understanding Theft Under California State Law
In this article, you can discover:
- The definition of theft under California state law and various types of theft
- Different levels of fraud or theft charges in California
What Is Considered Theft Under California State Law?
Theft under California law encompasses stealing, taking, carrying, leading, or driving away another person’s personal or real property. Other forms of theft include misappropriation or taking away by fraudulent representation, misappropriation of entrusted property, theft of services, fraudulent use of an access or gift card, or embezzlement.
What Are The Different Levels Of Fraud Or Theft Charges?
The degree of theft in California depends on the fair market value of the item or services taken. The value or services determine how the theft is charged, which could be as a felony, misdemeanor, or infraction. The Penal Code divides theft into two main categories: grand theft and petty theft.
Grand theft is more serious and typically charged as a felony. It involves circumstances where the money, labor, real property, or personal property taken is valued at more than $950. Grand theft may be charged as a misdemeanor or a felony, depending on various factors, such as the egregiousness of the conduct, the harm suffered by the victim, and the prior criminal history of the accused.
Petty theft covers other theft offenses (under $950), as outlined under Penal Code Section 484.
For more information on Theft Charges Under California State Law, an initial consultation is your next best step. Get the information and legal answers you are seeking by calling (415) 728-9982 today.